Can I turn my MBL DUO into a pure Wheezy NAS with no frills?

I’ve been managing remote servers for nearly 2 years, Debian Wheezy usually running nginx but for my MBL Apache would be okay. I learned the hard way you don’t want to apt-get upgrade on a MBL, you’ll create a lot of irreconcilable dependencies because MBL uses a custom version (repository) and you’ll create a bunch of problems, maybe brick it.

It occurs to me that it would be so simple if I could just delete the Lenny depositories and add my favorite Wheezy repositories, delete all the “bloatware” (sorry WD, I just want a NAS not a media device). But I’m not sure if there is any way to get around WD’s custom stuff. I can live without the LED and without the user interface. I’m used to running remote servers where my only choices are (1) SSH into it and fix it, or (2) have my host re-image it.

I just want to get a plain jane Wheezy installed, add RAID and Samba and my heart’s pick of any Wheezy package I want, and end up with a NAS and nothing but a NAS.

Is there any way to do that?

Actually I’d be tempted to install nginx instead of Apache (nginx easier to work with, arguably better performance), MySQL and configure it for serving local websites. (You use your hosts file to access them.)

This post is just intended to hook up with other techies who feel the same.

I think it will be better if you add this to the ideas board to see if that can be implemented in the future.

Link to ideas board: https://community.wd.com/c/personal-cloud-storage/cloud-ideas

I’m sorry if this sounds rude but that is naive of you to think that WD will implement the idea that “Hey let’s take out all the WD stuff and just make it a plain NAS.”

Without all the media junk it’s just some HDDs connected to the Ethernet running Samba (file sharing) and administrated via SSH. It’s taking away everything WD put into it to distinguish their product.