Broken USB connector

Hi,

I’ve been buying WD hard drives for my Macs for 2-3 years now, and have perhaps 30 of them filled (RAW photos).  Today, when I tried to connect my USB cable to one, the drive’s small metal connector broke off inside the unit’s shell.  This is the third time this has happened, and I’m not overly aggressive with them.  So it seems to be a weak spot, and in googling, it also seems a common problem.  The other two information-full, broken, hard drives are sitting in a drawer.

In looking at the warranty section of this site, it seems to indicate that if I send it in, WD will just replace the whole hard drive - not simply put a new USB connector on it.  Is that the case?  If a silly USB connector breaks off, do people simply lose all of their stored information?  I’d call their 800-number but, despite having spent thousands on their products, the site indicates that I’ll be charged $15 just to call.  ?

Thanks for any information. 

Barbara

About the only thing I can suggest is find a electronics repair place it doesn’t have to be a computer shop and see if they can solder a port back on. The boards the port is soldered to is not interchangable because of encryption. Remember Never trust important data to just one drive internal or external no matter who makes it. You need a backup, one copy is not a backup.

Joe

Hi Joe,

Thanks so much for the information - I very much appreciate your assistance.

I read an earlier post where someone mentioned they’d had the connector soldered, but then the information was somehow damaged.  I assumed it was from the soldering.

I have more than one hard drive per photo.   But we fill them very quickly (one every few weeks…which really means 2 every few weeks as we do dupes - and sometimes 3, for really important shoots), and we travel.  So we lack the spare time to know exactly what is on each drive.  Basically, I know all the lost info on the broken drives exists somewhere…but just where…