.avi files into Video_TS folder for continuous play?

Hi All!

I’m a newbie, so please be kind. I just received my WD TV Live Streaming Player (with a new WD My Book 3 TB external hard drive) and I’m loving it. I’m in the process of decrypting (via DVD Decrypter) and shrinking (via DVD Shrink 3.2), then converting into .avi files my purchased DVDs. I’ve searched and searched this forum (as well as the internet) to find out which files conversions are the best, and through experimentation, .avi works for me (to conserve disc space, and eliminate unwanted extra menus, subtitles, etc.). I’ve tested a couple of .avi files on the device, and they work well.

My only issue is that all of my TV discs are episodes, and there are 3-4 on one disc. Each disc yields approx. 9 -10  seperate .avi files (which seem to be 3-4 chapters for each episode). I’ve placed each “disc” of avi. files into it’s own seperate folder (TV show name, disc number) onto the external hard drive, and they show up well on the device. I want each folder to play continuously (like when I press auto play on my dvd player). Before I get into completely converting all my .vob files to .avi, do I need to create the Video_TS folder for each “disc” on my external hard drive, in order for the Streaming player to auto play the folder containing all the avi files for that disc? Sorry to be so wordy. Thanks.

First of all you can eliminate subtitles etc by using DVD decrypter / Shrink and you are not going to get a really smaller files by converting to avi. You should try using the programs you have got to rip to an .iso image file. This is one file with all the DVD within it which you can then play via your WD player and it will appear like your original DVD. The VIDEO_TS folder is only needed with a DVD rip and has no bearing on how avi files work.

You could try pressing play on the folder and I believe that should play all the files within the folder one after the other.

1 Like