Any plans for a Compact Flash version?

Professional cameras use Compact Flash for storage (some also have a secondary slot of another type) - are there any plans to release a version that can use CF cards? It would make sense as it’d be an ideal solution for backing up photos whilst on the go.

Hi there,

You can post this as a suggestion on out ideas board, please check this link, here you will post the suggestion:

https://community.wd.com/c/wd-external-drives/external-drive-ideas

lol - the WD twitter account asked me to post it here, but I can post it there too!

Hello,
Newbie here - please be gentle. :-/
I am thinking about purchasing an MPW for my wife for her to use on an overseas trip. I think this product will be just perfect for her, considering she will have only 1 camera, which happens to have an SD card.
I am also thinking of future uses for the MPW for myself, and I normally carry a video camera (SD card), and a still camera (Compact Flash) when I travel alone.
Can you please tell me if the following idea would work?
I was thinking that maybe I could buy a card reader, eg:
http://www.digitalcamerawarehouse.com.au/prod12443.htm
and a USB 3 adapter cable, eg:

and try to send the data to the MPW the opposite direction through the USB 3 slot.
Is this a ridiculous idea?
Please bear in mind that I have never actually seen an MPW, just the few pictures on the WD site.
Thanks in advance for any advice forwarded.

Best suggestion is to download the user guide from WD Support for the MPW model that interests you and see what the manual says about this and other things so you have a better idea of its capabilities.

Hi mike27oct,
Thanks for your reply.
I have had a good look at the manual, and unfortunately it is still not clear whether my idea would work.