2 myclouds devices mix confuse content report -and more

I’m no expert on this topic or near it but i am kinda confused whats going on with my Fw and os5

i have (2) mycloud 4TBs. Each has its own static ip. one shows Fw v 4.xxxx etc and the second 5.xxx etc. I’ve managed run os5 on the second. it seems from the WD info my Fw v4.xx device cant do OS5 - so that device is orphaned??? And if i continue to use it will be at risk for the hacks that caused OS5 to be produced. Gee thanks. Ive seen a post for the patch but it needs to run at every reboot. but i am not sure how to accomplish that. Am i missing something here?? WD knowledgebase seems to be talking past tech pedestrians like me.

Secondly it seems that “when both devices are connected” on my home network the content and space availability of the second (Fw5. xxx os5 device) shows the space availability from the (?orphaned?) first device (Fw v4.xxx) . if i disconnect the first (Fw v 4.xx)t then the correct content is presented. what gives here??

i have no data yet on the second device as i recently bought it. but when i go into it via ip address it thinks its filled up as the first device. Go figure??

i would have thought that if it scans for these devices and sees 2, it should somewhere allow you to chose which one you want to get to, I dont understand why its “borrowing the fill /availability” from the other device. It will show its really empty when when i connect only the second device.

Seems i gotta only have one of the bibles connected at a time to get accurate content info.

Any explanation why tit seems the Fw v4.xxx cant get to Fw for os5 and
why am i seeing mismatched content when both devices are connected

thanks

ok. . . keep a deep breath.