Reply
Community Manager
Bill_S
Posts: 7,482
Registered: ‎11-24-2009

Software Update - WD SmartWare Windows Version 1.5.1.6 (8/16/11)

WD is pleased to announce its latest WD SmartWare release, WD SmartWare Version 1.5.1.6 for Windows.

 

Please post your experiences in this thread.


Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue. This may help someone else.
Occasional Visitor
Jangles
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-16-2011

Re: Software Update - WD SmartWare Windows Version 1.5.1.6 (8/16/11)

[ Edited ]

Still killing my system by using all of my CPU. Memory usage is still high, currently 1.2GB. 

Community Manager
Bill_S
Posts: 7,482
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
0

Re: Software Update - WD SmartWare Windows Version 1.5.1.6 (8/16/11)

What percentage?


Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue. This may help someone else.
Staff
daytrdr
Posts: 1,402
Registered: ‎08-23-2010
0

Re: Software Update - WD SmartWare Windows Version 1.5.1.6 (8/16/11)

Was this after the backup was completed?  During a backup?  We use idle cpu cycles that Windows lets us use.  The slow down wouldn't be from the CPU usage, but the memory usage.

__________________________________________
Please be sure to click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue. This may help someone else.
Frequent Advisor
SLYPHNIER
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
0

Re: Software Update - WD SmartWare Windows Version 1.5.1.6 (8/16/11)

in my experience, this version lots better than 1.5.0.17 

well i didn't use back up, so i didn't know how back up performance 

but WDFME been working nicely (WDFME.exe hovering around 18mb ... WDRulesEngine.exe 9mb)

smartware loading faster too 

 

so far free space issue seems fixed too, well maybe i need more time to make sure it really fixed 

 

Staff
daytrdr
Posts: 1,402
Registered: ‎08-23-2010
0

Re: Software Update - WD SmartWare Windows Version 1.5.1.6 (8/16/11)


SLYPHNIER wrote:

in my experience, this version lots better than 1.5.0.17 

well i didn't use back up, so i didn't know how back up performance 

but WDFME been working nicely (WDFME.exe hovering around 18mb ... WDRulesEngine.exe 9mb)

smartware loading faster too 

 

so far free space issue seems fixed too, well maybe i need more time to make sure it really fixed 

 


Free space?

__________________________________________
Please be sure to click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue. This may help someone else.
Frequent Advisor
SLYPHNIER
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
0

Re: Software Update - WD SmartWare Windows Version 1.5.1.6 (8/16/11)

yes, i mean etilsq_* on temporary folder that keep growing 

Staff
daytrdr
Posts: 1,402
Registered: ‎08-23-2010
0

Re: Software Update - WD SmartWare Windows Version 1.5.1.6 (8/16/11)


SLYPHNIER wrote:

yes, i mean etilsq_* on temporary folder that keep growing 


We haven't changed anything that would have made this go away.  There is a new database generated everytime the WDFME starts.

__________________________________________
Please be sure to click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue. This may help someone else.
Occasional Visitor
music
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
0

Re: Software Update - WD SmartWare Windows Version 1.5.1.6 (8/16/11)

The upgrade doesn't complete. I get an 'Error 1603' message, and no upgrade. First I stopped virus protection, then attempted to install new version. As I type I'm trying to find version of current install, but I can't access it. It constantly wants to close and posts a pop-up message: "WD SmartWare has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience". Whether I send or don't send, I must restart Windows to actually close WD SmartWare.

Please advice.

Frequent Advisor
SLYPHNIER
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
0

Re: Software Update - WD SmartWare Windows Version 1.5.1.6 (8/16/11)

[ Edited ]


music wrote:

The upgrade doesn't complete. I get an 'Error 1603' message, and no upgrade. First I stopped virus protection, then attempted to install new version. As I type I'm trying to find version of current install, but I can't access it. It constantly wants to close and posts a pop-up message: "WD SmartWare has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience". Whether I send or don't send, I must restart Windows to actually close WD SmartWare.

Please advice.



try uninstalling previous wdsmartware

even it said updater, it doesn't need previous version to update 

 

if needed remove all smartware key from registry (you can use registry fix tools like ccleaner/registrybooster)

 

 

 


Toretto wrote:

We haven't changed anything that would have made this go away.  There is a new database generated everytime the WDFME starts.


oh ok,

just wondering is it save to delete it, especially few days old files ?

 

and also i want to know, if smartware have limit for this database ? or it will keep increasing as long there is free space?

 

2days since i install latest version, so far it collect 63mb

 

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD