SSH connection to my WD My Cloud EX2 not as expected

Hello,

I’m not an pro linux user, I just want to understand a few things regarding SSH on my EX2.

1. SSH user as per sigle posible config from the Dashbord is “sshd”.

I can live with this.

When I log in with ssh I give it the user “sshd” and then the passw and I log in.

Now I am logedin with root not “sshd”. ( used  id -u -n to get the current user).

Why is this? I give the “sshd” user and I get logedin with “root”?

1. I looked in the ssh config file and I can see that the only allowed users over SSH are “root” and “sshd”.

Problem: as I never changed the root passw I asume it has the default one.

I wonder if I enable SSH access from the web to my EX2 how long will it take for some one that knows the default password for root to break in my EX2.

So is it ok if I change the passw for “root”, or if I edit the SSH seting to remove “root” from the allowed users? (from a warranty point of view).

Thank you!

1. SSH user as per sigle posible config from the Dashbord is “sshd”.

I can live with this.

When I log in with ssh I give it the user “sshd” and then the passw and I log in.

Now I am logedin with root not “sshd”. ( used  id -u -n to get the current user).

Why is this? I give the “sshd” user and I get logedin with “root”?

Don’t worry about this - you are effectively logged in as root - that is the highest level of security you can log in as. The sshd is just an alias to root - but you cannot log in as root user - just as a security precaution.

1. I looked in the ssh config file and I can see that the only allowed users over SSH are “root” and “sshd”.

Problem: as I never changed the root passw I asume it has the default one.

I wonder if I enable SSH access from the web to my EX2 how long will it take for some one that knows the default password for root to break in my EX2.