No sound in some movies

Hi. I have installed a HD TV player recently . It works fine for most of the movies but in many movies there is no sound. The audio function is set to ‘Stereo’. I was using a HD TV live earlier and some of the movies that have no sound now, were alright with that player. But then there were some others which had no sound. In short, none of the models is able to play all the movies together( in terms of sound). Pl suggest solution. Thanks.

Re-mux the .mkv files with compression set to “none” in the headers.

Please elaborate on what you have suggested. I am new to this field and did not understand what you have written. Sorry for trouble.

Thanks

topcopnasik wrote:

Please elaborate on what you have suggested. I am new to this field and did not understand what you have written. Sorry for trouble.

Thanks

Ah, so you are one of those folks who thought they could just play videos with the WD without having to alter your files so they would fit…

I believe you have two entirely seperate issues:

1. Some of the movies have DTS sound only. Those are the ones that played in the WDTV Live but won’t in the WDTV (so far as I know; TIA, I don’t and won’t own a WDTV Live, but I believe that unit will convert DTS). They need to be demuxed, the audio reencoded, and then remuxed.

2. Some of the files have header compression turned on in the audio track. Those are the ones none of the WDTV players will play. These need to be remuxed with header compression turned off in the settings.

Now if all of that sounds like gobbldy-**bleep** (seriously, this board bleeps gee-oh-oh-kay? Yeesh…), you have two choices: