Why is my MBL 3Tb no faster on my new faster modem?

On my old modem 10/100 I got 11400bytes/ps which I imagine is the fastest on a 10/100 modem. So I bought a new gigabit modem (10/100/1000) and my MBL 3Tb is NO faster.
I wasn’t expecting a 10 fold increase in speed but wouldn’t 4 or 5 times is reasonable.
In any suggested solutions please remember I am an absolute newbie. :slight_smile:
I did research modem speed in previous messages but found no answer. :frowning:

If you were only getting 11,400 bytes/second (11KBytes per second) thats 1/1000 of what you should have been able to get on a 10/100 connection.

Depending on conditions, I get 30-60 megabytes per second to my MBL.

Confirm your speeds.

Sorry, I left out the “k”…

I get 11.4 megabytes per second on the 10/100(old modem)  AND the same speed on the Gigabit ports (on the new modem)…

I would be happy to get the 60 YOU get   :slight_smile:

Any idea why I get the same speed on BOTH modems?

Is the network card in your pc or laptop gigabit as well?

do you have CAT5E or newer cables?

both good questions   :slight_smile:

my network card in built-in to my motherboard - Gigabyte P55A-UD7.  The notification area mentions Network 3 if that means anything?

And the cable came with the MBL and the cable to the desktop is common or garden CAT5, again, if that means anything.

A couple of things I noticed though…  Previously when I copied from the MBL to the desktop or when I was downloading (P2P) at reasonable speed I couldn’t access the the MBL from the WD TV SMP.  On the new modem I CAN access the MBL from my WD TV SMP while it is copying at full speed (11.4 mbps).

When I copy from the MBL to a 4Tb external attached to one of the USB ports in the modem the copy runs at about 5.5mbps.

Are you suggesting the speed of the motherboard’s network can/will effect the copy speed?

Slowly beginning to make some sense    :slight_smile: