What can WD TV Live do for me?

I’m very new to all of this.

I just purchased a unit in hopes it would help me eliminate cable TV.  I thought I would be able to access any kind of streaming from the internet but it appears that I can only access certain services, and then I also must subscribe with a fee.

I wanted to be able to access anything I could on my PC like cbs.com, abc.com etc. and even hulu.com (free access)  Am I missing something on all of this?  Is there a way I can eliminate my cable TV to get the shows I got from it ( I only had basic)?  Even if I could record shows on my PC and then get them using this would be great.  Is there a virtual DVR that could do this for me? What would be the best way to set something like this going like I had with cable?

I sure need to catch up on what I can and cannot do and any suggestions/advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

It plays media files that you have already saved on a hard disk. You can play these via a network or directly via USB. You can play certain services that are included - Netflix, youtube etc. You cannot add your own services. It does not replace cable. You can install software on your computer which allows you to stream other services but this means that you have to have your computer on and normally you have to pay extra for this use.

1 Like

If you install serviio on a PC then you can access various on demand services, such as hulu.com.  This is free. 

You need to check out serviio.org 

1 Like

Most of the free ones you mentioned are covered through Playon. Check out Playon.tv. Install that on a PC, the on the WD TV Live, select Media Server under Videos as the Content Source, and it should detect your Playon server automatically. You can stream that way. The downside is that you need to have a computer running Playon running when you want to use it. I cancelled my TV service 2 years ago…but I subscribe to Netflix and Hulu Plus as a substitute. The 16 dollars is worth it to me.

1 Like