Weird problem with my WD media player.. it just stopped playing videos?

I hope someone here can help me with this. 

I turned on my player and plugged a hard drive usb into it. I started playing some random HD .mp4 files and they played just fine like usual. I then stopped the video to go play a different kind of file and it shows just a black screen. I hit the back button on the remote and it takes me back to the folder menu. I then tried playing another file, and the same thing happened. I then tried playing other files that it’s played perfectly fine and the same thing! I then tried plugging in a different hard drive and still just shows a black screen when I attempt to play a file. 

The .mp4 files I played just minutes ago were kind of unique files, very large… I even had problems burning them to DVD. I don’t know if maybe playing the file caused a setting to change or something? Is there a way I can like re-set it? I unplugged, re-plugged and all then and nothing. I’m just not sure, but it was playing videos just fine not too long ago, and now I can’t play a thing and i’m really upset.

If anyone can help i’d really appreciate it. I’ve only had this for like 6 months or so

I have had things like that happen. Some file, possibly corrupt or with some obscure setting in makemkv or ripbot etc or some inherent bug in the firmware, causing some hiccup, then causing the WD to half crash, so that one can select known good files files and they will play either audio and no video or just sit there.  I my case a power plug pull for a minute fixed it.

I would try a power plug pull for a minute and then try a known good file. if that fixes it I would consider that a file with some minor problem may cause a partial crash