WD2000JB will not format after being wiped

I have a WD 200GB internal hard drive that I put in an external case. Recently, it lost its partition information. I used TestDisk to recover my files but when I used the tool to check the MBR and Boot Sectors, I found that the Boot Sector was fine, but the Backup Boot Sector was bad. I wiped the drive by writing 0s to it using the WD Diagnostic Tool. Now I’m trying to get it reformatted. I was thinking that it would find a different sector to make the boot sector. (I’m competent with computers, but I’m not an expert at this.)

I use Vista and am in the Computer Management Console. I have initialized the drive, but am unable to get it formatted. I’m trying to create a simple volume. The Format Wizard goes all the way through the process which takes a couple of hours. After getting through 99%, it says Format Failed. I tried a format from the DOS Command Prompt and that failed too.

I then used TestDisk to see if there was any kind of partition, but there wasn’t one. Is the drive toast at this point? What should I do, I’ve spent way too much time on this and it’s time I ask for help, so here I am. :manfrustrated:

This is not my boot drive. It is a drive I had from a former computer that I put in an external case just for the added storage space.

Well if the drive is not allowing you to format it you need to replace it, there is not a lot more you can do aside from connecting it directly to the computer motherboard and try again.

Someone over at the forum that makes TestDisk suggested that I use a powered USB Hub, but I don’t see how more power will let the software write to the disk any better. You think installing it into the computer would give it a better chance? Is a power problem going to let Windows get all the way through the format process and then fail at the end?