WD TV Live with Home Entertainment Audio Systems

Hi, I am a complete noob when it comes to how these setups may work. I currently have my WD TV live running files from my network share. I have Bluray files in MKV format that uses DTS audio channels.

My TV does not support this and the TV Live is set to Stereo so that I can actually get audio from my TV. From looking around here, I noticed that I need what’s called a DTS receiver for this to work. So I started looking at some entertainment systems. I was looking at Bose Lifestyle systems and I am wondering how this would work with the TV Live if anyone has experience.

How would the wiring work? Would I be connecting the TV Live to the audio receiver and from the audio receiver to the TV, both with HDMI? Is there any problems with the video and audio from doing this? As I understand it, my WD TV live can play almost all formats, so that is one of the big reasons I got it. If it is doing the transcoding, how would this work with a bose lifestyle system?

I was looking at a system like this: http://www.bose.com/controller?url=/shop_online/home_theater/51channel_systems/dvd_systems/lifestyle_35/index.jsp

If someone has experience with their WD TV Live and hooking up to a good system, please let me know the model you’re using as well as I have most certainly not made a decision as to which home theatre system I am getting.

Totally aside from the fact I hate TIAB (Theater in a Box) solutions, it doesn’t appear at first glance this will do what you want.

What you need, ideally, is a receiver that has HDMI inputs.  You *can* route the HDMI to your TV and audio out optically (which this receiver supports) but if you have other things attached (blu-ray player, cable box) that use HDMI then you will end up with a mess of these cables and possibly some things which don’t offer optical out.  And you will also involve possible sync issues.