WD TV Live SMP - Newbie need advice XML moviesheet & movies directory structure

Hello all,

I’m a newbie here and need some good practice advice.
My plan is to stream on demand my DVDs from a Synology NAS as a shared Windows folder on a local wired network.

1/ is there any limitation/restriction of XML moviesheet and associated cover jpg usage with file browsing method ?

2/ any suggestion of an “ideal” movie directory structure for an esay (pratical) media browsing usage ?

3/ any benefit / drawback to activate the media library assuming that the NAS is my unique media source ?

4/ for long term compatibility and audio/video quality, I plan do rip my DVDs as ISO files. Good or bad idea, alternate suggestion for ripping method or format/container ?

5/ any additional recommendation is welcome for a newbie. It’s a huge project for me and want to have the good starting points and don’t want to do it twice !

Kind regards,
Thalys.

no one ?

Im no expert, but I will weigh in as I have been setting up my system for around 3 years, so I learnt a little:

1/ is there any limitation/restriction of XML moviesheet and associated cover jpg usage with file browsing method ?

I do not think that there is like a limit of say 1000 or something, but I do know that the more movies/pics/xml that are in 1 directory, the longer My Media Library takes to display.

2/ any suggestion of an “ideal” movie directory structure for an esay (pratical) media browsing usage ?

I use the following structure:

movies  >>  action  >>  movie name  >> all files to that movie

>>  comedy  >>  movie name >>  files

etc

tv shows  >>  show name  >>  season 1 etc  >>  all files for that season

music videos  >>  type (eg rock/rap)  >>  files

purple are folders.

red are files like folder.jpg / movie name (date).mkv / movie name (date).jpg / movie name (date).xml