WD TV Live Plus 1.04.17_B VOB over network share Studdering

I am new to this, but I have a WD TV LIVE PLUS, and any firmware after 1.03 cause studdering in playback of my network VOB.   Tried 1.04.10_B and 1.04.17_B.   

Question what is the “_V” versions of the firmware?  I found the link in this forum, are they the same as “_B” versions or is that the difference between the Non Plus and Plus units. 

Also on 1.04.17_B , I read about a workaround to fix studdering by clicking “play” on VIDEO_TS folder vs just playing file within VIDEO_TS folder.  My results were it would play but without sound and it still studdered.

Please fix VOB playback problems created with new 1.04.x firmares for I would like the new features.

Update - The solution to this problem is to rollback to a 1.03.xx firmware.

Yes, the stuttering is a known problem. It is already being discussed here:

http://community.wdc.com/t5/Firmware/BUG-Confirmed-1-04-17V-VOB-stutter-over-network/td-p/108518

The ‘V’ versions are for the WD Live. The ‘B’ versions are for the WD Live Plus. A lot of us have rolled back to 1.03.49 to fix the stuttering problem.

Is there any news on this? 1.04.18_B still has the same issue and WD Tech Support had been playing dumb with me for the past 2 months. They say that they are not aware if this issue, and to please check the Community Boards for solutions. Are they serious? Can it be that they don’t read these boards? Can it be that no one else is reporting the issue to WD Tech Support? They told me that they understand what the issue is, but will not admit if they are able to reproduce the problem. They suggested to just use a USB drive. Nice answer.

I am a loyal WD customer, but I think it’s time to jump ship on the Media Players.