WD Passport - Encrypted files not accessible

Hi,

Earlier I had a Windows XP PC1 to which I used to connect this WD Passport portable hard disk and take a backup of files regularly. Few days later this PC crashed and had to give it for service for reinstalling the OS. Till then I was using a different PC2. Now when I connected this WD Passport to this PC2 and tried to access the backedup files of PC1 it says its encrypted and don’t have permission.

• Doesn’t ask for any password too to open the files. I am not able to access any of these PC1 files stored in WD now through PC2.
  • I don’t remember doing any encryption on PC1 with any password but it says so that its encrypted.

All my data is there only on WD Passport portable drive only !! After service of PC1 with new installed OS when I connect this WD Passport drive too its in the same status where I am not able to access files.

How do I retrieve these files now !! Please help.

Thanks in advance.

I am not an encryption expert but:

1. What OS are you using on PC2? Seeing as how you were using XP on PC1. Was PC1 Encrypted?
  2. Have you ever used your Passport with PC2 before?
  3. Is your Passport an SSD or HDD?
  4. If your Passport is an HDD there is an EXE called “WD Apps setup.exe” which WD puts on their Pasports HDDs, did you use it? If so you could have encrypted the drive.
  5. This is a guess but if the drive was encrypted by mistake, I’m guessing that the encryption key could have been stored on PC1 and if so, with the OS being reinstalled you won’t be able to access the drive.
    Like I said, I’m no encryption expert but I can try to help.

Thanks much for your response in trying to recover my files. Sorry, saw your reply late due to this lockdown and so my response is late.

1. What OS are you using on PC2? Seeing as how you were using XP on PC1. Was PC1 Encrypted?