WD Live 1.06.15 ISO/MKV/VOB Playback Solution Help

Hi All,

I am brand new to the WD Live scene. I just unboxed my (2x) units last night and, without too much fuss, managed to get them onto the network and pointed to my NAS files (though for some reason it just will not ‘see’ my 5GHz connection, only the 2.4GHz one and the adapters are dual band n-class).

I haven’t had any blockyness, but the iso’s due play wierdly. They will play fine for between 5 and 60 seconds, then start playing in a kind of double-time speed whilst skipping frames - there is also no sound during this time. If I skip to the next chapter playback resumes to normal for again, about 5 seconds, then back to the strange skipping again. Same if I pause the movie for a few moments, plays fine for a few seconds after un-pausing, then back to the skippy/jumpy thing again.

I spent a few hours trawling through the forums last night and there was mentions of:

1. Amending the screen display size and refresh rate, setting it to a specific amount (ie 50Hz) or not at all and to leave on Auto. Tried multiple combinations - no change.

2. Changing the playback region settings to Central Europe (i think) ISO - no change.

3. Dissableing DNLA network under Network Settings; I can’t find any such settings on this firmware and not sure if I’m missing something - so, no change.

4. Not to upgrade to the latest firmware (1.06.15) - too late for me, I just did it as matter of habbit with a new ‘toy’.

The main reason for getting the streamer is that I have about 900+ DVD quality (4GB+) downloaded movies which have all been converted to DVD (VOB) format and burnt to disc. I recently aquired an awesome NAS unit (Synology 1511+) and chucked 10TB of storage in it and was hoping to get all my movies onto the NAS so that I didn’t have to use the discs anymore.