WD / Linkstation / iTunes - confusing mess

First, I’m an IT professional with 10 years experience, so I thought that buying a NAS and media streaming box wouldn’t be beyond me.

Second - I was wrong. It *is* beyond me.

Is there anyone out there who has a WD Live, a Buffalo Linkstation1tb, and iTunes? 

I ported my iTunes library to the LinkStation, and iTunes from my PC now works with it just fine. The PC is linked to a library at L:/Share/Music/ITunes

What I’ve spent DAYS trying to do is get the WD Live HD box to recognise and play the music, specifically the iTunes playlists that I’ve got.

So far, I’ve worked out that the playlists need to be converted into m3u because the WD Live can’t understand iTunes playlsts. 

I also noted that any playlist I make on my PC and then copy to my NAS will have a bad path, because it will relate to L:/Share/Music, and the WD Live won’t understand what L: is…

With that in mind, I doctored a playlist and changed all the “L:/” entries to ‘//NAS/Share’ to tell the WD Live the right path to the music.

Now, after all that, it STILL refuses to play playlists, and says “there is no media in the folder”. This must mean that the path in the playlist is invalid, but I can’t work out why…

Can anyone shed any light on this, or does anyone have a setup similar to mine where everything actually works? 

(PS - I have neglected to add that the WD box won’t play any of my protected files (i.e. purchased from iTunes) - is there a way around this?) 

Thanks in advance for any help… I am pulling what little hair I have left out over this… 

Additional info: An extract from my playlist is below:

\NAS\Share\Music\iTunes\iTunes Music\Foo Fighters\The Colour and the Shape (Special Editio\11 Everlong.m4p

\\NAS\Share\Music\iTunes\iTunes Music\Red Hot Chili Peppers\Greatest Hits\08 By The Way.mp3
\\NAS\Share\Music\iTunes\iTunes Music\Linkin Park\Hybrid Theory\05 Crawling.mp3