My WD Anywhere did this too, but I’ve managed to stop the reminder message appearing at startup.
In my case, the first time that the new version message appeared it changed the program that runs at PC startup. Instead of launching the backup software it starts the upgrade reminder. Then after choosing “Remind me later” the normal backup software would run.
I found that the name of the program had been changed in my PC’s startup (actually in the Registry). You can see this by viewing Startup in the System Configuration tool (MSCONFIG). For the entry: WD Anywhere Backup, in the command data you’ll probably see “MemeoLauncher2.exe” but it should be “MemeoBackup.exe”
To correct the above you’ll need to edit the Registry (make a backup first). Navigate to the key named:
then find the Value name: WD Anywhere Backup. The Value data will probably read:
C:\Program Files\WD\WD Anywhere Backup\MemeoLauncher2.exe --silent
and should be changed to:
C:\Program Files\WD\WD Anywhere Backup\MemeoBackup.exe --silent
Next time the PC starts, the normal backup software should run without the new version message. As always, take care when editing the Registry!