Video_TS Issue

Hello all, I am new to the scene here. I have a WD (G3 I think)  TV Live Streaming device, with a MyNet N900 Switch-Router / DLNA server and and HP USB external drive. WD Live is connected via 1gig port to N900 switch.

All media files appears to play fine except normal ripped DVD’s when launched from a WIndows Share. It loads ok, starts to play, the first 10 seconds appears to be normal, but then is slows down to a drag where it isn’t viewable. However, when launching the same video from my laptop (Wireless 72mbs), it plays fine. 

Again however, if I launch the video from the same source using the DLNA media server instead of the File share, it plays fine up to the point where you press Play to start the movie. I suppose that format doesn’t support DVD menus as I am not able to find a way to press play.

I updated the firmware recently tot he 2.something… I thought this might be the issue… so I reverted back to the 1.36 I believe but still have the same issue. I did also update the firmware on the N900 Router. Seems liek if this was the issue, it would be present in any type of connectivity. 

My researched via Goggle finds most comments expressing ripping it into a different format as the solution. First of all, I dont’ want to have to do that. It obviously can play fine as the DLNA option has proved.  Second, I consider this to be the best video box on the market and can’t tell you how disappointing it is to find it can’t (at least until now) play the most basic video user likely have. A DVD. 

o

Any help?

well you’ve got 2 completely different things you’re trying to compare

DNLA means that the server is actively pushing content to your WD

so yes throughput will generally be higher

aslo WD can not directly access DVD menu’s etc

the server would have to implement that

then you have windows shares

this allows WD direct access to the files

but it’s passive the WD has to do the work to get the data