Video playback turns to slow-motion with no audio

Hello all,

Well I have a brand new WD TV Live Plus HD Media Player running 1.06.16_B.

Suddenly when I’m a few minutes into a movie, the playback suddenly slows down to slow-motion and I have no audio.  It sometime resumes normal playback randomly, but often it stays this way until I stop and restart the playback.   If I stop the playback and restart it, the problem clears for a few minutes and then returns.  Pausing does not clear the problem like stopping and restarting does.  Needless to say, it could take all day to watch lord of the rings.

I’m using an approved USB 802.11n NIC and connecting to a Seagate FreeAgent USB external drive on my network.  I use Boxee in another room and it has no problems with playback of the exact same movies.  I am a video conferencing engineer with an MCSE and can assure you that my network connectivity is not the issue.  I also want to note that Netflix movies stream without issue to my WD and have no problems with playback whatsoever.

I have taken forum suggestions from other people with this problem and downgraded my firmware to various versions, but each is still having the same problem. The firmware versions do change the severity of the problem, but none have resolved it.  It seems like there are enough people reporting this issue that it would be addressed by now.  Is this something that is being worked on or should I just return the WD and get another Boxee?  I really like the WD because of the size, but it does me no good if I cannot watch any of my movies.

I am a video conferencing engineer with an MCSE and can assure you that my network connectivity is not the issue

Well, I’m a continually re-certified Cisco network engineer at the NP/DP level (since 1998) and I would think your network connectivity is the issue  :)   Battle of Titles and all.  ;)