Very Frustrated with My Cloud EX4

Hello Everyone,

I’ll get to the point

1. How does one copy files from the Device to a computer hard drive. Obviously works fine on the local network, but I can’t seem to figure it out if I am away from home. The Desktop app does not allow it.

2. Related to the above so fine I havent figured out how to copy data from the device, but viewing data is no easier on a desktop. You have to double click each file individually. Why is there no slide show for example for pictures? Mobile app had it.

3. Why do group permissions not work. I setup shares and groups with the correct share access and rights. I put users in those groups but they can’t get to the shares. I have to go to each share individually and grant access to each user manually. Why have groups at all?

Granted i am new to this device so I hope I am missing something. Please if anyone can point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.

I would notet that a device like this is not just used by smartphones and tablets. It is also not just used locally nor is it just used for multimedia items. This is a full server with “DATA” all sorts of “DATA”, i would expect that I should be able to get to my “DATA” anywhere in the world and do what I want to do with my “DATA”. The entire reason this product was appealing is that i get to control my “DATA”. At this point it seems very limited and restricting. I think I saw a PDF file of a way to mount a drive letter to the device via web java applet, can’t seem to be able to find it any more. That sounds like the ideal way or let the desktop app do the same.

Again any advice - thoughts?

thanks for any help

Jacek

Try setting up ftp.

Yep…zemun2’s suggestion is the best. To get access to your files on EX4 from a computer from outside the network, ftp is the best method.