v2.2.1.6 - useless - disgusted!

Today I upgraged to this software version as I noted my backups actually hadn’t been happening - closer examination showed that only system files were being copied and not data files - even though the Smartware software said they were!

After 5 attempts of loading, deleting and rebooting (over 5 hours), I finally got it to at least boot - it even looked like it was working!

On starting backup, the CPU usage is above 50% constatntly until the laptop freezes (at 38Gb of 120Gb to copy) and the only way to get it to work is to power down and reboot. After restarting the software, exactly the same thing happens. I’ve now been sitting for 9 hours trying to get this thing to work - I’ve trawled pages and pages of Support content and have came to the conclusion that it’s just down to this version of the software. I’m running Vista 32-bit and the drive is a MyBook 1Tb.

I have to say that as a professional photographer I have a few WD drives, but this will be the last time that I invest in WD products. This is a joke, and the other recent forum entries prove that I am not alone in my opinion.

GET THIS SORTED WD, OR YOU’LL GO OUT OF BUSINESS!!

I look forward to a solution very shortly via contact from your support staff.

I have raised a support ticket for this problem but to date have received no feedback from WD.

WHY IS THIS SHOWING AS SOLUTIONED !!!

Tonight I have sent this email back to WD:

Martin,

I am absolutely at my wits end with this USELESS WD rubbish!!!

Today I have sat for another 6 hours (15 in total now) and have done as you have suggested, plus other things, ie:

• Removed and update MS .net software

• Removed and updated WD Smartware

• Removed and Updated WD SES Driver Setup software

• Removed and Update WD Firmware to version 3.2.4.2

- Updated to the latest level of Flash

• Made a donation to UNICEF, just in case…

• Rebooted my laptop numerous times