Users and Groups - How does the security work?

I have created several users and and shares (public and private) and they all work fine.  I have also created groups. Let me give some examples.

Users: Rex, Bob, Gina, Todd.

Groups: Administrators, Programmers, Writers, Support, Staff.

Shares: General, Code, Documentation, HR.

In this scenario, I (Rex) am an Administrator and should have fiull access to every share. I set myself into the Administrators share and set Administrators to have full access to the HR share. If I (the user) am set to No Access, despite the fact that I am an Administrator with Full Access to HR, I am denied access.

In the same case, I set the Administrators group to have No Access to the HR share, but leave myself with Full Access. I cam still able to read and write in that share.

To summarize, it seems that a User rights trump Group rights. This seems wrong. Did I miss something?

Rex_Critchlow wrote:

To summarize, it seems that a User rights trump Group rights. This seems wrong. Did I miss something?

Correct.   User (specifc) rights always supercede Group (general) rights.

I don’t mean to be obtuse here, but that doesn’t make sense. Here’s my argument:

The point of a group is to assign a specific set of rights to multiple persons. If the User rights trump Group rights, in order to grant group privledges to an single User, they would have to have indifidual rights assigned to each share they need to access.

Example: Bob is new to HR. As an employee he also gets read access to the News share. If, as it works, a new User defaults to no access to any share, but the user is added to the HR Group, his User access of None will trump the Groups Full Access. In order to get him access to HR and News, I would have to change his User rights to match the rights I wanted him to have in the group. That being the case, why did I make a group in the first place?