USB Drive Makes New Name

When I opened my cloud it comes up with my usb drive called samsung, but when i opened it up a few times it keeps adding a new number to it like its a new drive, I now have samsung 12,
I have 12 folders from 1-12 all saying samsung(same drive), how do I delete these or even format it, I dont understand why it is doing this!

If you can look at the /etc/samba/overall_share file. How many samsung entries are in the file?

RAC

im no techie, so where on earth do i find that?

Also you can do a “tail /var/log/wdnas.log” This will show messages about the USB device it mounted or tried to mount.

RAC

This is what it looks like…

You need to enable SSH in the dashboard. You then need a program called putty for windows. After you download putty. You can run putty and enter the ip address of the MC and click open. You will then get a login prompt. enter root.
Then enter the root password. Once you are logged in you can type “cat /etc/samba/overall_share” It will list all of the shares on your MC. When no USB devices are installed. There should only be a Public entry in this file. You can also do “tail /var/log/wdnas.log” This will show you the last few entries in this log. This log is used to show different information about the MC. Some of which is log entries when mounting a USB device.

RAC

I experience the same problem, so at least it is not an issue with your setup.
My MyCloud firmware is: 04.04.02-105 - I have a WD MyBook disk connected to MyCloud via USB. It showed as “My_Book” under Shares and I was able access and share data on that disk via network.
A few days later though, the “My_Book” share was empty and the disk was mounted under a new name “My_Book_2”. Several days later, the disk was now showing as “My_Book_3”. A few days later: “My_Book_4”.
Of course my network links to this disk (e.g. for my WD TV) stop working each time, because the data has moved. The disk was connected to the MyCloud constantly, it was not removed at any time.