Unknown song titles and albums on My Cloud Storage

I’m new to this so please excuse if this is a dumb question.

I’ve just purchased a cambridge audio stream magic 6 and I’m trying to set up a server to stream music. 

I’ve ripped all my music to 16 bit .wav files and am now trying to stream these using WD my cloud. 

However when i log on to the twonky folder view, access music via stream magic, phone, network player or WMP it shows all song titles as unknown and albums as unknow.

I’ve tested with an MP3 and it recognises the names so i’m guessing its the .wav file, but it worked when I streamed directly from my computer?

Any help would be great.

Thanks in advance

You need to a software program (like MediaMonkey) to embed “metadata” to your WAV files.

The “metadata” is information like Track number, album name, genre, etc and which allows the media server (Twonkey Media Server on the WD My Cloud in this case) to parse and provide to the Cambridge Audio Stream magic 6 device.

Thanks, will mediamonkey be able to “tag” my existing files or will I have to re-rip?

I’ve downloaded but it still isn’t working. MediaMonkey doesn’t recognise the files either. However if you access the files through the ip address you can see the correct album names and song names etc??

MediaMonkey will tag all your files. If the files are sensibly named, in an obvious file hierarchy, e.g.

Album Artist/Album/Track# Title

it will happily ‘Auto-tag from filename’.

BUT before you do anything else, convert from WAV to FLAC (lossless compression), because 

1. it will save you about 40% space, while retaining perfect CD quality 

2. WAV is hopeless at storing metadata.

> I’ve downloaded but it still isn’t working. MediaMonkey doesn’t recognise the files either

You need to pull your music into MediaMonkey’s library.

1. Map the MyCloud to a network drive letter (see the MC user manual)

2. Start MediaMonkey, and press the ‘Ins’ key