Unable to reset MyBook Live via reset button on back

Evening gurus

Having read the user manual, and having been unable to get my MBL reattached to my network, I decided to try the >4s reset option. But my device still can’t be found on my network when using the WD MyCloud tools.

I’m using a NetDuma router which cleverly shows you all devices connected to it and their IP address however, there is nothing appearing for the MBL. There are three “nameless devices” on the network, one with an IP address (when pinged doesn’t appear to respond), and the other two with no IP addresses assigned.

I’m absolutely at a loss about what to do now. I have masses of photos and video stored on the drive (I’m an amateur photographer), and while I have a backup from a few months back - I would be missing some images which would be a real pain.

Is it possible to remove the drive from within the MBL and put it into a USB caddy or similar to be able to access the data that way?

Any thoughts/hints/shoulders to cry on, would be much appreciated.

Cheers
Kev

What color LED do you have? Compare that with manual. If you do not have the manual, download it.

Removing the hard drive would be the last option. Search for the unbrick/debrick guide on this forum and that will tell you how to remove the drive, recover the files and re-install the OS.

Hi Shabuboy,

Thanks for the response. The light is a steady green which suggests everything is ok, but even when pressing the reset button, it doesn’t go blue and then back to green…it just stays green.

1 Like

Green means the cable is connected and it has an IP, either via static or DHCP server.

Try this: Unplug the ethernet cable on MBL, color should change and check your router’s DHCP lease/client table/list. Plug it again and see if there is a new device listed.

If no luck, try a switch, so you will have:
MBL connected to a switch
Switch connected to the router