Transmission on My Cloud

Is it possible to install Transmission on My Cloud? Thanks.

no one?

I can bet my Pizza you sure can via SSH, but I’m also sure no one is voiding the warranty and playing with SSH without fully exploring all the risks of a NAS that is not even a week old.

Thanks. I am new to the NAS. So, once it’s SSH, there will be a record left in the My Cloud. The record cannot be clear and it will void the warranty?

http://community.wd.com/t5/My-Book-Live/GUIDE-Install-Transmission-2-77/m-p/558638/highlight/true#M20788

The above takes you to a link on how to install it on a mybooklive.  The mycloud is pretty much the same thing so I imagine the same steps will work.  I’m not an expert but my guess is, all the experts are still on the mybooklive forum if you don’t have any luck with help here.

You’ll see the installation is not for a newbie and yes, I’m pretty sure it will void your warranty.  There are other NASs out there that allow for easier use of transmission.  Of course there will be different advantages/disadvantages to each NAS.

Yes it works fine. Takes 2 min to install.
Ssh login , then run. apt-get update

Then there are three transmission packages to be installed I don’t remember the 3rd one but the two are:

Transmission-daemon, transmission-cli

I actually searched the transmission packages and there are 9 packages altogether.

http://packages.ubuntu.com/search?keywords=transmission&searchon=names&suite=all&section=all

Can you tell me which is the 3rd one you installed?

Do you know what’s the function of the others? Thanks.

Hi, these are the only ones you need to install:

apt-get install transmission-cli transmission-common transmission-daemon

apt might suggest to intall another one, something like “transmission-gtk” but that is not needed.

after install transmission’s configuraiton is under: /var/lib/transmission-daemon/info/settings.json