Total frustration with speed and connecting to this paperweight.!

Incredible that i fell for this Joke of a box!! It was good for the 1st 20 minutes when nothing was on the drive. Since then it is just getting so slow now that it freezes the windows explorer when trying to move or upload files to it. i have my cloud 3 tb. Netgear wnr2000 router connected by ethernet cable. I was able to increase speed temp by enabling the qos tab and making the my cloud a priority device but there are just too many connecting problems and windows saying i do not have permissions…ugh. I have given this thing over 5 weeks of my time and energy. I have been working on computers for 27 years now. I am not a stranger to this. But this thing is nothing more than a ROCK in my backyard. Can I get some help here please? i mean 180 dollar rock and i am not a happy customer.

How much data are you copying and how?

Your router will work but slow

you will get at top speed 12.5 MBps (Mega Bytes Per Second).

read/write to device might be slower at least the writing.

whereas 1Gigabit router will get top speed of 125 MBps.

in pratice will be lower depending on the device.

On mine I get 30-40MBps R, and 55- 60MBps W with a 1 gig router.

Not really meant to hijack the thread but I find it intersting that people act all surprised when they don’t get awesome transfer speeds over their 10/100 based network.Then complain more when their wireless network doesnt do well either.

All my computers have Gigabit NICs and my switch between them all is Gigabit too. I can transfer GBs of data without blinking. Granted, I haven’t transfered a ton of data to my MyCloud yet but I haven’t had any speed issues that I have noticed either. If I have a lot of data to transfer (I transfer around 50-60GB from time to time when I move my photo archives around) I will never do it wirelessly, if I did I would be sitting there for days to have it complete.