Thumbnail issue

Hello,

I’ve been using the WDTV for a few years now and never really had any issues that I couldn’t figure out myself. This morning I added a new movie for my daughter and when I went to scan the file to add the thumbnail and movie info, it didn’t work. It downloaded the metadata for the movie, but no thumbnail for the movie.

I’m using the latest firmware version and have looked through recent posts, but nothing appears to be related to the issue I’m having.

As a test, I took the same file and name it something else and scanned it and it downloaded the metadata and thumbprint without any issues.

A few things I’ve noticed. After the scan, I took a look in my movie folder. I see the MP4 file of the movie, the XML file, but no jpg. Instead of a jpg, I see a .metathumb file. None of my other movies have this metathumb file.

I even downloaded a jpg manually for the thumbnail from a link in the XML file, placed it in the folder with the same name of the movie and nothing. It just doesn’t want to take it.

Something else I noticed during my testing. I went ahead and rescanned an existing movie that was working. The scan came up with the correct movie, but a different thumbnail for the movie. After I updated it, it was displaying the new thumbnail, but when I look at the folder on the hub, it’s still the old thumbnail JPG for that movie.

Are the thumbnails being stored in a different location now? Can you force it to download and save to the same folder that the movie is in? Also, any ideas as to why this one movie I have will not display the thumbnail no matter what I try to do?

Thanks in advance.

Van

The Hub hasn’t created Thumbnail JPGs for some time.  All thumbnails created by the Hub (and SMP, for that matter) are .metathumb files.

So if you want to use your own JPG, you need to delete the metathumb file.

That’s one heck of a quick reply there Tony.