The library is a disaster in SMP

The compilation of the library is a mess. They have no shame. Look good programmers !!!

Regards.

2 Likes

The library works fine for me on the latest firmware

I have the latest firmware, and i use a linksys e3000router, mybooklive 2tb, and SMP.
Randomly hung up, and light blinking for ever…an nothing happens.
Honestly…a disaster. I hate this box.
Sorry for my bad english.

Insults are not a good way to get help in this forum!!!

Ok, i’m sorry, but, i hate this box. Is a disaster.
Regards.

Well, perhaps that is a bit over the top! I too agree that there have been some very poor programming decisions made. As a programmer myself, I find the design sometimes puzzling.

I find the media libray works fairly well for movies. It does not work at all for TV Shows (for me). I gave up on photos and music as it is simply unworkable (too slow for a start). But if all you want to do is watch movies, it is fairly good. The scraper is quite good.

I also REALLY dislike the idea of writing system data back into every folder that the box finds a movie in. I am guessing that the actual programmers would have baulked at that no end. I am assuming a manager overrode their good sense.

The Shares system is also awful - again, I doubt the programmers would have been that bad - again I think it is a bad decision by a no-nothing manager. Perhaps cost cutting or something.

I think it is a good enough item to last 12 months. By then the android boxes will be out, and hopefully they will have dual core CPUs - THEN we will see some really good media players.

Apipote wrote:

I have the latest firmware, and i use a linksys e3000router, mybooklive 2tb, and SMP.
Randomly hung up, and light blinking for ever…an nothing happens.
Honestly…a disaster. I hate this box.
Sorry for my bad english.