The Joys of SSD Upgrading and Time Machine

I am also a musician along with my work with photography and my love for garageband was one of the reasons that I switched from PC guru to an Apple Guru.

Recently I bought Logic Pro X, which is the pro version of Garage Band and it soon became apparent that I had very little room left on my old 120GB SSD.

So I bought a Samsung 850 Evo 250GB and it sat on the shelf waiting.

I procrastinated for days because swapping out a hard drive on a Mac Mini is a surgical procedure; akin to a heart transplant. Every screw differs from its neighbours and every piece is precision crafted requiring patience and keen eyesight; so I decided to do this at 2:00AM when I am tired with a dim table light and a towel for the surgical operation. No idea why I suddenly decided to go ahead but it took 3 hours because I had problems with the wifi antennae plate so now have an extra screw.

Now the reason that I’m posting up this SSD upgrade here in the WD Forums is because of the wonderful network of My Clouds that I have in my home and the ease of use that Apple provides with their time machine; it just works. Combined with the WD Cloud, my SSD upgrade was a cinch.

Before my SSD upgrade, I had done my preparations. Creating a USB boot up drive to install El Capitan and creating a time machine backup on My Cloud. The Time Machine backup was just a precaution as I was planning to do a fresh upgrade.

However the time machine backup ended up saving my hide as the USB boot up El Capitan Installation did not work.

After installing the SSD and was unable to install El Capitan from the USB drive, I decided to restore my time machine image to my new hard drive.

To Restore from a Cloud Time Machine Backup

1. Held down the option key…
  2. and selected restore from backup,
  3. selected my Cloud drive,
  4. selected my backup…
    and 40 minutes later… I had a perfectly working Yosemite system that looked exactly like the system I had before upgrading.