Tearing my hair out with EX2 Ultra

Hi,

firstly, i have managed to pick up some great tips on this forum since i bought an Ex2 Ultra back in February. I bought it to replace an old Windows Home Server box that eventually had a motherboard failure, and got it because i have had a good experience with a 6TB white mycloud single drive unit i have been running for a couple of years alongside the server with a load of media sat on it.

When i bought the EX2 i also bought a 10tb drive to drop into it, and reformatted a 6tb drive form the server that was less than a year old as the second drive, giving 16TB total storage. i didnt RAID the drives as i didnt want one taking the other one out.

having copied a lot of media content onto the 10TB drive, i set about using the inbuilt dropbox app to sync the contents of my dropbox to the EX2, and immediately ran into the unresponsiveness problems.

having read a lot of similar topics on this forum i decided the best bet was to wait it out. i turned off plex, remote access and all the other things people were saying could slow it down.

unfortunately, the sequence of events has boiled down to:

1. restart the EX2. the device is then responsive for a while (presumably as it hasnt started the indexing process).
  2. (usually) the next day - it has slowed to a crawl again. very difficult to log into the web interface, although the shares are still available, but running slowly.
  3. days later - drive 2 (the 6TB drive) is showing a red light. there is nothing stored on drive 2 yet. importantly the shares are still available, but running slowly.
  4. restart and go back to step 1. rinse and repeat.

so, figuring there might be an issue with the disc in bay 2 (it wasnt brand new into the NAS), i pulled it, thinking my problems would be over.

unfortunately now, i am in the same scenario, but now drive 1 has a red light after a few days, which leads me to think it might not be an error with the drive itself.