System Overhaul for Photographer

Hello,
I am a fairly prolific photographer/videographer that is coming to terms with the fact that I need to completely overhaul my mac computer storage and backup practices. I’ve been getting away with sloppy methods for far too long and have a feeling my luck is going to run out soon. I want to build a durable system for a reasonable price that does not require active management. I’ve done some research online but feel a bit out of my depth and am wondering if anyone out there can advise on the best route given the particularities of what I think I want.

I will start with a 16TB system that is expandable. 16TB should cover my needs for the next few years and I already have most of the SATA drives (mostly WD Blacks) for the primary files and for a single backup (mix of HGST & seagate). I figure i will need to invest in some more drives immediately and then periodically in the future to expand capacity.

I gather I should get a DAS or NAS enclosure (at least 4 bays) that is fast enough to work off of at my studio desk. I will need fast access to all 16TB of data so it should have a thunderbolt connection (i think). This enclosure should be capable of RAID but I have not decided yet if I would run it as a RAID 0, 1 or 5. If anyone has advice on this, I’d welcome it too.

I have the idea of getting second enclosure (located off-site at my apartment) that can be automatically backed up over the internet via time machine or similar software. I don’t like the idea of all my files being on the cloud (call me paranoid). It seems clear this would have to be a NAS which could potentially double as a streaming server for home entertainment purposes. I like the idea of this because it will give me access to all my files over the internet if I am traveling or directly if I decide to work from home some days.