Swaping WD Red Drives in MyCloud EX2

Quick question from a novice here… I have 2 WD Red drives (3T) installed in my MyCloud EX2 enclosure configured in RAID 1 mode (mirrored). For extra backup safety, I wanted to buy a third drive that I will swap in and out periodically (every month or so), storing it off site in a safe location. Two questions:

1. What do I have to do to format my WD Red Drive to be recognized by the MyCloud EX2?

2. When I swap out the drive and replace with the new empty drive, do I need to take any action to create the mirror or is this automatic?

3. Similar to question two, when I replace the old drive back in the enclosure in a month or two; what do I have to do to make it sync with the active drive (and make sure it does not happen vice versa; i.e. it syncs to the old drive and not the most recent version

Thanks for your help with questions from a newbie.

Wes

That is not really what RAID 1 (mirroring) is really intended for. It is to provide redundency in the event of one of the drives failing.

What you are describing is really backing up the EX2. This is better done by buying a USB 3, external 3TB drive, plugging that into the EX2 and using the built in Backup utility to backup the contents of the EX2 to the external drive. You then unplug that and store it safely.

Messing around with the mirrored pair in the EX2 to try and do, what is essentially just a backup, is inviting things to go wrong and result in loss of data.

I do exactly the above with my 2 x 3TB EX2.

Depending upon how much data you actually have, you could create a new backup folder on your external USB 3 drive every time you do a backup, so you maintain multiple backup copies, all without messing with the internal drives.

George