Stuttering on M2TS - Any Soltuions please?

Hi - I am new to this and have been searching the forums for a probalem that I’ve got which other user seem to have experienced. Basically I have my desktop, router and WDTV live connected via powerline (200mb). My Powerline utitlity software tells me I am getting approx 120mbs. I can view normail rpipped DVD from my desktop (which is in another room) but my M2TS files play ok for approx 30sec and then stutters heavliy and I lose the sound. When connected to the USB link directly to an external drive, it plays fine. Please can someon help or direct me to where I may be able to look/tweak my set-upand hopefully the solution. Thanks

In this months maximum PC mag they have the box opened up an review the hardware inside.  In the box you have 1 GB or mem - 512 for the WD os.  That leaves just 512 for caching.  Your file is pushed in at a rate of 4+ sec to replace the 512 and the box is using it up faster then you can push it. 

Try without the powerline using regular ethernet and see if that resolves the issue.  You may be getting some network problems using the powerline.

Hi, yes - M2TS has been a problem for me for several months - but it has not been the WDTV live that’s been the issue - it has been network bandwidth availablility. I also use powerline (D-Links) that gives me a theoretical 100mbps, but this reduces down (by ~ half or more) when the powerline encryption is added - as well as noise/interference on the mains circuit.

Hold this next thought until you read the next sentence - 120megabits/ps is *theoretically* a raw 15MegaBytes/ps on a fixed line LAN connection.

Now consider that a lot of DVD media is stored for a transfer rate of ~=<9.5MegaBytes/per-second.

Now consider that a lot of HD/Blu-Ray/M2TS media is stored for a rate of ~=<30MegaBytes/per-second.