Streaming from Linux

Is there not a way to play videos from my Linux server without having to run and configure samba?

NFS :slight_smile:

apt-get install nfs-kernel-server

DNLA

…  should I go on

garrett85 wrote:

Is there not a way to play videos from my Linux server without having to run and configure samba?

In what sense do you think your Linux machine is a “server” if it is not running any server software?  :dizzy_face:

Samba is quite trivial to setup.  I can easily show you the few lines you need to add to the smb.conf file for a basic home network video server setup.  Also, many distros have GUI tools for configuring Samba (and NFS) shares.  Samba gets complicated only if you want to do sophisticated things like merge directories on separate drives or enforce security policies.  I have been using SMPs with a Samba server for two years, with zero hiccups.  Much more reliable than the ever changing Windows file sharing.

Thanks I would appreciate that. I have setup the smb config file but my setup is still unsuccessful. I did a test run first on my desktop and it’s working fine, but when I used pretty much the exact same setup file and process for the Linux box that is to be my server it either doesn’t connect, connects but says I have entered a invalid username or password, or it lets me in but says there are no available shares.

What I want to do is have a share setup so that any computer or WD TV Live device on the network can stream the videos without entering a username or passoword, and of course read only permissions. My next step will be to turn the media server into a media cloud so that I could also access and stream the videos from outside network.

I may be mistaken but I think the WDTV wants write permissions.

Changes to smb.conf file:

In the [global] section change the workgroup line:

workgroup =MYGROUP

(make sure you set this to the same thing on the SMP)

Then add share definitions at the bottom of the file.

I have mine like this: