Sorry, but

I’ve been using WD products for a long time, but I’ve finally had my fill of the problems and incompatabilities.  Some of these incompatabilities are between WD products like the WDTV SMP and the MyCloud. As noted in many many threads, getting one device to work the way it’s supposed to is a chore.  When you have two devices from the same vendor not working with each other, where to you even begin to point a finger?

These WD devices are sold in consumer stores, and non-technical customers buy them and are dumbfounded attempting to make them work.  I’ve been a computer systems analyst for 30 years, and these devices have just gotten the better of me.  If a seasoned computer guy has issues, how in the world does WD expect the average non-tech consumer to figure it out?

I stopped updating the firmware on my WDTV SMP years ago.  It was stable, did what I needed and I was able to watch my movies.  There were so many horror stories about updates that I decided to leave well enough alone.  It worked.

When the MyCloud came out, I thought it would be a great companion device to the SMP for movie storage.  I got one, set it up, and it seemed stable, but performance was always an issue.  Even over hardwire connections there were hesitations.  Uploads take much longer than they need to.  I turned off everything that wasn’t required for simple Windows sharing and performance was still lacking.