So disappointed with the EX2Ultra apps

I’m a long time WD NAS user. I’ve gone through the WDMyWorld, WDLive, WDMyCloud and have now moved to a WDMyCloudEX2Ultra.

I want so much to love my new drive but must admit that the EX2 ultra feels like it’s a forgotten piece of hardware in WD’s mind. I work in IT and see that other NAS manufacturers just seem to be able to produce much slicker software.

Basic NAS functionality is fine. However, the apps (or in particular the apps I’m interested in) are such a let down!

The Acronis app, described at Cloud Apps: My Cloud NAS Data Storage Apps | Western Digital, says “Acronis True Image backup software backs up your entire system image (bare metal backup)”. Clicking on the “download” button (to download the WD edition software) on the website does nothing! The actual app, when installed on the EX2, just seems to redirect you to the Acronis site to buy the full version! Not the solution I expected, and stinks a little of miss-selling.

The Arcus surveillance app works great for two cameras, but when you try to buy anymore, you get taken to a website that says “If you clicked on this link, you are using an older version of Milestone Arcus. In order to get your free camera license please go to your WD NAS dashboard to the apps section and download the latest version.”. My EX2 is running the latest firmware and the Arcus app is the latest version so… what gives? Also says that my current license runs out on 14th November 2017!

Am I just experiencing some odd behavior with my particular drive, or is this just a shoddy piece of kit?

1 Like

Hello speef,

Maybe you should try contacting WD’s Technical Support about this.

To Contact WD for Technical Support

https://support.wdc.com/support/case.aspx?lang=en

And what a waste of time that turned out to be!