Show content of Mac via WD TV Live on tv

I’m pretty new with WD TV Live. Playing movies via ‘Network Shares’ is no problem.

But I was wondering if it is possible to use Safari or Firefox of my Mac and see the content on my TV.

My second question is: can I use iTunes on my Mac someway?

My configuration

MacBookPro mid '07

Router = Draytek Vigour 2900G

TV = Philips 42PFL7403D/10

AV/DVD Harman Kardon 138-28

I’m afraid the short answers to your questions are “no” and “no”.  There is no browser on the WDTV Live and I’m not aware of any plan to get one running; and to access browsers on other computers, one would need some kind of remote desktop software, which is even less likely to be included in the future.

As for iTunes, the problem is that Apple don’t support the Upnp/DLNA standard which the WDTV Live supports, and conversely, iTunes can act as a media server but using only the Apple-proprietary DAAP protocol which the WDTV Live does not support.

Furthermore, iTune’s playlists are not stored as standard M3U or PLS files, but are embedded in an XML database. There are tools out there to read this file and export the playlists as M3U or PLS files, which are readable by the WDTV Live. Also it may be possible to find other media server software which are able to expose iTunes’ playlists to the WDTV Live, but I don’t know about them. I would certainly like to know if somebody found a way to do that.

Neutro, thanks a lot for your clear and detailed answer.

Now I know that I don’t have to expect results of the WD TV Live in this case.

I am using the Playback Media Server from Yazsoft and though right now it won’t give you access to Internet services,  it will give you access to all your iLife libraries (iPhoto, iTunes, iMovie).  Playback of video was also much improved with no stuttering on large HD video files over my network.  It’s $15 and requires no Network configuration, just turn it on (START) and it will be seen by the WD HD Live.