Sharing Video

I am considering using the Cloud Storage for sharing Video.
I am a coach, I would like to store game film for the players to view and download.
Is this something that this can be useful for?
Will I be able to keep my personal storage safe?
Will it bog down my internet speed at home if others are logging in to view videos?

Short answer is YES. It is possible to share a link that would allow another person to access and download a file that is stored on the My Cloud.

However, because that person would be accessing the file from what I assume would be remotely your broadband upload speed will be impacted. Depending on the upload speed it may take the person a long time to download the file.

If you plan on having a lot of people accessing the files, and or if the files are very large, then it might be best to look at online storage rather than something like the lower cost My Cloud devices which are generally designed for personal usage.

You can read through the My Cloud User Manual (http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/library/?id=439&type=25) to learn more about the My Cloud, its features including remote access and how to configure those features.

One can view the WD My Cloud page for additional information on the My Cloud: http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.aspx?id=1140

You’re better off outsourcing IMHO.

Tons of online streaming sites allow you to set streaming video up as private or require a password like youtube.

http://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/home $60/year for unlimited video at amazon.

Google offers 15GB free.

You could setup a Google Account for your team. Besides hosting 15GB free, you can also use that account to send out team emails as well. Maybe host photo’s, etc.