Revelation?

So I down loaded a program called Active Partition Recovery…

And when I did the scan before it gave me the read error (as noted before)…

However, now I do a scan and guess the eph what… My external hard drive (as I’ve named it “THE BEAST”)

is in the Local System Devices - when it WASN’T there before!!

The catch??? - - it’s not under the drive that I assigned it when I first got it - - which was (G:/) it’s under (E:) and (F:)

for some odd reason, F, by the way is my Dvd-rom drive… odd…

Anyways

so now what I do??

It’s giving me the option to create a Disk Image… but being a complete NOOB, I have not idea what that is!!!

Yes, I googled it and the best I can figure is that a Disk Image is something that wouldn’t necessarily help me out

in recoving my data and or my hard drive…

I’m hoping someone could tell me what my next step is in order to save this thing…

mayn thanks

The default drive letter for the CD/DVD is drive E:/. That is  assuming the recovery partition,D:/ is still intact on the C:/ drive. So your CD/DVD drive letter is now D:/  or F:/ ?

If it is F:/ , did you do a backup to a DVD ?

1 Like

here are the screen shots one from Disk Managment, and the other from the Active Partition Recovery Program:

Does any of this make any sense? - - - is any of this helpful???

I’m nervous to shut any of this down becuase I’m afraid the next tiem I go through this - - I won’t find my data again :confused:

What software are you using to take screen shots ? Nothing  there of any use.

Bring up the screen you want to take a screenshot of.

Find your Print Screen Key on the keyboard. If it is a multi function key like mine ( print screen and sysrg) you will have to press shift and then print screen. 

Then open  up your paint program. Press Ctrl-V and it will paste the screen shot to the paint program. Save as a jpg file into a folder and insert that into your post.

whoops, Mister, you’re right my CD/DVD drive letter is D