Retrieved files unusable

I have been using a Freecom 500GB external drive for 4 years without any problems. As it is getting old and I need more storage, I went to PC World hoping they had a 2TB Freecom. Unfortunately, they do not stock Freecom, but recommended the WD My Book Essential 2TB. I was slightly concerned by the low price (which has since been reduced by a further 20%) but was assured by the slick salesman that the WD was very reliable and that he used one himself with no problems (yeah, right!). I connected the drive and after several attempts to install the software, got it to run. I allowed it to back up my computer’s files, which it did without any problems. To assure myself that the files were backed up correctly & that I could access them if needed, I retrieved a small folder containing about 100 files, using the ‘retrieved files’ option. This all seemed sweet until I attempted to open the files. Each folder contained 1 word document & 2 picture files. None of the files would open. On top of this, any folder with a title longer than about 5 words would not open at all, and could not even be deleted withot renaming them to make them shorter. The Freecom has never caused this problem. The WD is now safely back in its box awaiting my next visit to the recycling centre. But all is not lost. I have learned 2 things: steer clear of anything Western Digital & don’t listen to con artist salesmen.

Or you can use another backup software or you can drag and drop the files.