Reset button does NOT perform a full factory reset

Warning to WD My Cloud users: The reset button on the back is useless. It only resets accounts, not firmware. Unlike a router, If a firmware update bricks your device (white LED), the reset button won’t fix it.

The same goes for Dashboard and SSH access; when the device is bricked, these are often inaccessible, preventing users from restoring the system.

Fortunately, the WD call center is flexible, helping users send their bricked devices back for repair/exchange.

http://support.wdc.com/contact/contact.asp?lang=en#us

This applies to all WD NAS devices and is also noted on page 8 (13) of the User’s manual:

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/library/UM/ENG/4779-705103.pdf#page=13

Additional information is available on page 109 (114)

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/library/UM/ENG/4779-705103.pdf#page=114