Replace Defective Drive in DL4100

My system has informed me that drive #2 is bad in my DL4100. How do I replace this drive? I have a replacement on hand. Do I have to power down first? My system only gives me options to reboot, hibernate, or logout.

well ain’t that a kick in the pants. Had not noticed that. When did that happen I wonder?

I pressed my power button once (just a tap) and the LCD displayed system shutting down.

Should I power down to replace my defective drive?

I would, but I am not a Linux expert. In any case, you should have a backup of your data before doing anything else,

I put my system into hibernation about 2 hours ago. It powered itself down after about 2 minutes. I then replaced the defective drive. It started rebuilding volume #1 (the only volume) immediately, starting with an estimated completion time of 550 minutes (a little over 9 hours). It’s now at about 380 minutes and still rebuilding volume #1.

Thanks for your input.

I’ve been doing a little research on hard drive failure rates and came across mention of a study by Google in 2007 in which they reported annualized failure rates (AFRs) for individual drives ranged from 1.7% for first year drives to over 8.6% for three-year-old drives. A similar 2007 study at Carnegie Mellon University on enterprise drives showed that measured MTBF was 3–4 times lower than the manufacturer’s specification, with an estimated 3% mean AFR over 1–5 years based on replacement logs for a large sample of drives, and that hard drive failures were highly correlated in time. A 2007 study of latent sector errors (as opposed to the above studies of complete disk failures) showed that 3.45% of 1.5 million disks developed latent sector errors over 32 months (3.15% of nearline disks and 1.46% of enterprise class disks developed at least one latent sector error within twelve months of their ship date), with the annual sector error rate increasing between the first and second years.