Question about folder.jpg

I have a network share with several genre specific folders in it.   If I include an appropriately sized folder.jpg image in each one of those folders, shouldn’t that icon be displayed instead of the standard folder icon?   This doesn’t seem to work, regardless of what display mode I am in.  Despite the presence of a folder.jpg, only one of my folders is displaying something other than the generic folder icon, but it’s not the folder.jpg file.  Rather, it’s displaying the coverart (cars.jpg) for one of my movies.

Perhaps I’m doing something wrong here. Is the use of folder.jpg dependent on a specific theme being used?   I’m new to the WDTV world and gathered this info from the Hub forums.  I assumed it would work on the latest WDTV Live Streamer since they seem to run the same firmware.

Yep…   if you have, inside a folder, these files:

Folder

-+ MovieFile.mkv

-+ MovieFile.jpg

-+ folder.jpg

Then the FOLDER.jpg file should be displayed when you are looking AT the folder, and the MovieFile.jpg should be displayed when you’re IN the folder, looking at the movies inside.

folder.jpg works fine for me on my nas devices.  Not sure what the problem could be.

Thought that was the case.  That is exactly how I have it set up, but it’s not working that way for me.  MovieFile.jpg will display when I’m in the folder, but folder.jpg does not display when I’m looking at the folder.  I tried this on both Network and USB sources  

It looks like there are a few features that are supported on other WDTV products, that are not working on this new player. 

I spun my wheels for many hours trying to get this to work, along with the Media Library feature on a NAS source. 

nfodiz wrote:

folder.jpg works fine for me on my nas devices.  Not sure what the problem could be.

Odd.  I’m certain I have it set up correctly.   I guess I’ll tinker with it some more.