Proprietary non-standard USB interface on My Passport

Hi

I have been using many types of USB drives for many years. If ever I got a problem reading the drive, I could pop out the drive from the case and use a USB-SATA plug kit to connect it to my PC to diagnose/backup/recover.

However, when I had a problem on a new My Passport I was shocked and dismayed to see it had a proprietary non-standard interface so I could not connect it to my recovery kit. I have come across some non-standard connections before (e.g. Dell) but they usually use a removable adapter - this one seems soldered/permanent on the My Passport so I am stuck.

Please advise.

Thanks

tomhass

Micro USB is the new standard for this type of units

smart phones, cameras and other devices use the same connector

These drives usually have hardware encryption, so even if you convert it to sata somehow ie “hardwire”, your data would still be encrypted. What seems to be the issue with the drive?

spins? clicks? buzzing? silent?

Its not the dead end with them, but recovery procedures are more time consuming with the extra steps involved now in the process with that interface. 

Wizer that’s wrong - I know what a micro-usb port is on the 200+ smartphones I support - this connector on the drive is non-standards based - it is larger than a micro-usb and has a metal indent/prop in the middle for which you need a special cable - that hacks me off in so many ways !   :frowning:

The point I am making is that previously USB external drive were made to international standards:-

1. Inside the disk is SATA2 usually with either a micro-sata or SATA2 connection - you can connect it easily to any standards-based PC in the world

2. The USB connections were via SATA->USB adapters inside the caddy and the cables were either USB Micro or Mini standard - most businesses and probably most homes either have spares lying around or at least available from PC World/Radio Shack.