Pre-Purchase Question: 1080p streaming

Hi,

Just wondering if anyone could comment on the WD Live’s wireless 1080p streaming.

I currently use PS3 media server to stream 720p video to my TV - but the picture isn’t great - and 1080p files stutter too much to watch. Occasionally I play 720p/1080p content via a USB drive via my PS3 but it’s a long process to get the files into a format that the PS3 will recognize and play.

I’m not an expert in the wireless router/network requirements to seamlessly stream 1080p content - but I do have a FiOS Internet connection of up to 25 Mbps/25 Mbps.

I guess my question is whether or not it’s worth the $90 to buy the WD TV Live - or if I should just stick to streaming over PS3 media server and/or playing the video off a USB drive via the PS3?

Would the WD TV Live make streamed 720p content look any better? Would I be able to stream 1080p content wirelessly from my macbook pro (dual core)? Would 1080p content on a USB drive connected to the WD Live TV still stutter?

Thanks for any answers from the community.

Thanks

PS3 Media Server is not set up correctly. PS3 Media Server should stream 720p and 1080p video content over a wired LAN without any video degeneration or stutter.

The other issues have already been addressed on this forum. Results vary; you will need to read the forums to determine whether your hardware setup will cause you any issues.

Thanks.

PS3 media server is definitley set up correctly - but I’m mostly using it to wirelessly play the content - you’re right in that it plays fine when there is a wired connection - but that’s what I’m trying to avoid. 

I know the hardware set up makes a difference - that was kind of my question - with a minimal harware set up - in gerneral - will there be issues streaming 1080p content wirelessly?