Poor performance of mycloud personal cloud - please help

I just purchased a wd my cloud 3t nas external drive. I am experiencing poor performance. I loaded only about 10 photos and 2 video. As I view pictures on the drive via my ipad, there is long delay between photos being displayed as I swipe thru them. Additionally , videos are either unrecognized or the ones that are play so terribly choppy it’s terrible. The videos seem to continually buffer(?) I guess I’d call it. The videos will play a second or two then stop, then play again, then stop…etc. The poor playback is the same weather I am at home accessing the my cloud drive via wifi …or…if I’m away from home, accessing the drive remotely via wifi from my office. It doesn’t matter if I. Accessing the my cloud drive via ipad, iPhone or another computer outside of the houses or at home,…the video playback is extremely sluggish. I am new to this type of drive (NAS) so maybe im expecting too much

.IS THIS WHAT I SHOULD EXPECT FROM THIS NAS DRIVE?..what can I do? I…Could it be my router?..Could it be my internet provider or the speed of my internet from my provider? Is the my cloud drive supposed to be able to play my videos?..I dont know if a different router is the answer at all but i supplied the details of my router below.

here is the router i own and a link its details on best buy (if it helps):

NETGEAR - RangeMax Dual-Band Wireless-N Router with 4 Ethernet Ports

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/rangemax-dual-band-wireless-n-router-with-4-ethernet-ports/1208844.p?id=1218234872989&skuId=1208844&st=categoryid$pcmcat211400050001&cp=1&lp=1

RichieRichC wrote:

Is the my cloud drive supposed to be able to play my videos?

Well, to be specific, no.  The drive doesn’t “play” anything.  It’s just serving files to something else that’s playing them.

First, you need a new router.  Yours doesn’t even have Gigabit Ethernet.