Poor JPEG performance (quality and speed)

I’ve been using the HUB for about three months now and I will admit that I’ve been fairly disappointed with its image rendering performance.  Specifically two things bug me…

1) Image Quality: High-res jpegs display poorly with many jagged edges (poor anti-aliasing).  They look acceptable from over 20’ away, but the moment you get closer you really see the edges start to break down.

1. Performance: When navigating between photos it takes 3-5 seconds for an image to render (load) on screen.  This is especially annoying as the lag leads you wonder if the HUB received your command from the remote.   I really expected much better performance given the images are stored locally on the HUB’s internal HDD. 

I will admit that I am probably pushing the limits of the HUB’s abilities as most of the images I am attempting to view are 10-18 megapixels in size, but  I guess I am just a bit surprised by this as my old xBox 360, which is now broken, handled these with ease even when the images were accessed over the home network.

Perhaps I am simply expecting too much, but I guess I would just like to know if anyone else has experienced the same issues.

I realize that producing lower-res versions of the images tailored for the HUB would probably help, but I don’t see this as a practical solution.

1 Like

It seems to be a well known bug. If you select your displays native rez, for example, 1080p 60 Hz, & view your pics, they look good, but if you view any other media files that require scaling to that rez, then the photo rez drops & you get the jaggies & poor image quality.

Its bad enough that the jpeg rez is limited to 2048x2048, but the fact they still can’t get the photo scaling right is a joke.

I’ve not seen any jagged-edged JPGs on the latest firmware (2.03.24) but it was an issue in prior ones…

I SERIOUSLY doubt your XBOX rendered a 18mpixel image in less than 3 seconds over a network.